All ten non-incumbent openly LGBT congressional candidates lost their races on Tuesday.

While Congress' six out Democratic House members – Jared Polis of Colorado, David Cicilline of Rhode Island, Mark Takano of California, Kyrsten Sinema of Arizona, Mark Pocan of Wisconsin and Sean Patrick Maloney of New York – kept their seats, Congress' LGBT caucus won't be growing this year.

Business executive Angie Craig, a lesbian Democrat who is raising four children with her wife Cheryl Greene, was polling slightly ahead of her GOP rival Jason Lewis last week, but the close race for the open seat in Minnesota's Second District was called early Wednesday for Lewis.

Controversial Pinal County Sheriff Paul Babeu, a Republican, lost in his bid to represent the people of Arizona's 1st congressional district.

(Related: Ben Carson endorses Paul Babeu for U.S. House.)

In Kentucky, Lexington Mayor Jim Gray lost in his attempt to unseat Republican Senator Rand Paul. The former GOP presidential candidate won re-election with 57 percent of the vote.

Two of the candidates were openly transgender. Democrat Misty Snow took on the taunting task of challenging Utah Senator Mike Lee, who won 68 percent of the vote on Tuesday. Misty Plowright, an Army veteran, also came up short in her bid to unseat Colorado Rep. Doug Lambron, a five-term Republican incumbent.

In Connecticut, Clay Cope, a gay Republican, lost to incumbent Representative Elizabeth Esty by 14 percentage points.

Four other out Democrats running for the House fell short on Tuesday, including Bao Nguyen of California, Brady Walkinshaw of Washington, Matt Heinz of Arizona and Denise Juneau of Montana.