Massachusetts Senator John Kerry and New York Rep. Jerrold Nadler on Thursday introduced legislation to outlaw discrimination against gay people in the housing and credit markets.

The Housing Opportunities Made Equal (HOME) Act would amend the Fair Housing Act to prohibit housing discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity, marital status, or source of income. It would also amend the Equal Credit Opportunity Act to prohibit LGBT discrimination in credit decisions.

“LGBT Americans, non-traditional families, and the disabled should not be subjected to housing discrimination at the hands of the unscrupulous or bigoted,” said Nadler in a statement. “This legislation will ensure that the Fair Housing Act and the Equal Credit Opportunity Act are actually protecting ALL Americans and guaranteeing people of any sexual orientation, gender identity, marital and familial status, and source of income the right to the housing they choose.”

“It's hard to believe that in 2011, any law-abiding, tax-paying American who can pay the rent can't live somewhere just because of who they are,” said Kerry. “Housing discrimination against LGBT Americans is wrong, but today in most states there isn't a thing you can do about it. This legislation would end discrimination that continues to hurt people.”

Calling the bill the “first of its kind in the Senate,” Human Rights Campaign President Joe Solmonese thanked Kerry for his backing.

“Despite a great deal of progress, lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people continue to experience discrimination in all aspects of their lives, including one of the most basic – finding a home for themselves and their families,” Solmonese said.

Nadler is joined by six House members in co-sponsoring the legislation: Representatives John Conyers of Michigan, Edolphus Towns of New York, Steve Israel of New York, Bobby Scott of Virginia, Alcee L. Hastings of Florida and Jared Polis of Colorado. Co-sponsors in the Senate include Senators Tom Harkin of Iowa, Patty Murray of Washington, Kirsten Gillibrand of New York, Daniel Inouye of Hawaii, Sheldon Whitehouse of Rhode Island, Jeff Merkley of Oregon and Chris Coons of Delaware.