Talk show host Ellen DeGeneres and singer-songwriter Diana Ross are among the 21 recipients of the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

President Barack Obama will present the awards at the White House on Tuesday, November 22.

The award is presented to individuals who have “made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.”

“The Presidential Medal of Freedom is not just our nation's highest civilian honor – it's a tribute to the idea that all of us, no matter where we come from, have the opportunity to change this country for the better,” Obama said in naming his final group of recipients. “From scientists, philanthropists, and public servants to activists, athletes, and artists, these 21 individuals have helped push America forward, inspiring millions of people around the world along the way.”

This year's honorees also include Michael Jordan, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Robert DeNiro, Bill and Melinda Gates, Tom Hanks, Lorne Michaels, Robert Redford, Cicely Tyson and Bruce Springsteen.