A group of mayors have united to form a new coalition to oppose so-called religious freedom laws they have criticized as discriminatory.

Mayors Against Discrimination said in a press release that its members will work together to undermine laws already in place and stop their spread to other states.

The mayors have already taken action, barring city workers from traveling to North Carolina and Mississippi, both of which recently approved bills targeting the LGBT community.

Inaugural members include San Francisco Mayor Edwin M. Lee, Seattle Mayor Ed Murray, New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio, Philadelphia Mayor Jim Kenney, Portland Mayor Charlie Hales, Oakland Mayor Libby Schaaf, Honolulu Mayor Kirk Caldwell, Santa Fe Mayor Javier Gonzales, Washington, D.C. Mayor Muriel Bowser and Tampa Mayor Bob Buckhorn.

The group said in its press release that members would “work together to examine prohibitions on contracting and purchasing from companies in these states, develop model resolutions that can be adopted by city councils and other legislative bodies, and other measures that Mayors and cities can take individually and collectively.”

“Some are trying to turn back the clock to a deeply flawed time in our history,” said New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio. “We’ll keep doing everything we can to stand with the LGBT community, speaking out against discrimination and moving forward policies and laws like we have in New York City that allow LGBT individuals to live with the dignity and respect they deserve.”

Mayors Against Discrimination added that it would work with businesses and rights groups to “apply direct political and economic pressure to repeal or stop the alarming spread of discriminatory laws in the United States.”