Attorney General Eric Holder on Saturday announced that the federal government will recognize the marriages of gay and lesbian couples in six additional states.

The federal government will now recognize married gay couples in six new states, including Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, North Carolina, West Virginia and Wyoming.

Seven states were added last week: Colorado, Indiana, Nevada, Oklahoma, Utah, Virginia and Wisconsin.

Saturday's announcement brings the total number of states where the marriages of gay couples are recognized by the federal government to 32, in addition to the District of Columbia.

Married couples in these states will now qualify for federal benefits.

“With each new state where same-sex marriages are legally recognized, our nation moves closer to achieving of full equality for all Americans,” Holder said. “We are acting as quickly as possible with agencies throughout the government to ensure that same-sex married couples in these states receive the fullest array of benefits allowable under federal law.”