The Colorado Supreme Court on Friday ordered Denver County to stop issuing marriage licenses to gay and lesbian couples.

Boulder County Clerk Hillary Hall began issuing the licenses after the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals in Denver upheld a lower court's ruling striking down Utah's constitutional amendment limiting marriage to heterosexual unions.

The Tenth Circuit's jurisdiction includes Colorado, and Hall cited the ruling in explaining her actions.

Denver County Clerk Debra Johnson and Pueblo County Clerk Gilbert Ortiz followed suit after a judge ruled that Hall can continue issuing the licenses. District Court Judge Andrew Haman, however, said the validity of the licenses remains in question.

Johnson immediately complied with the order, but Hall and Ortiz, who are not affected by the ruling, said they will continue issuing marriage licenses to gay couples, according to The Denver Post.

Colorado Attorney General John Suthers, who turned to the high court to put a halt to the licenses, acknowledged that the ruling only applies to Denver and Adams (which is not issuing such licenses) counties, but said it was his hope that other counties would voluntarily comply.