Dozens of anti-gay activists have pledged to resist any ruling on marriage from the Supreme Court which favors gay and lesbian couples.

A veritable who's who of gay rights foes have signed on to a “Marriage Solidarity Statement” that was drafted by Liberty Counsel's Mat Staver and Deacon Keith Fournier.

Next week, the high court is expected to rule on two cases related to gay marriage.

(Related: Supreme Court Prop 8, DOMA decisions should come next week.)

“As Christian citizens united together, we will not stand by while the destruction of the institution of marriage unfolds in this nation we love,” the statement reads. “The Sacred Scriptures and unbroken teaching of the Church confirm that marriage is between one man and one woman.”

“Experience and history have shown us that if the government redefines marriage to grant a legal equivalency to same-sex couples, that same government will then enforce such an action with the police power of the State. This will bring about an inevitable collision with religious freedom and conscience rights. We cannot and will not allow this to occur on our watch. Religious freedom is the first freedom in the American experiment for good reason.”

“If the Supreme Court were to issue a decision that redefined marriage or provided a precedent on which to build an argument to redefine marriage, the Supreme Court will thereby undermine its legitimacy. The Court will significantly decrease its credibility and impair the role it has assumed for itself as a moral authority. It will be acting beyond its proper constitutional role and contrary to the Natural Moral Law which transcends religions, culture, and time.”

“As Christians united together in defense of marriage, we pray that this will not happen. But, make no mistake about our resolve. While there are many things we can endure, redefining marriage is so fundamental to the natural order and the true common good that this is the line we must draw and one we cannot and will not cross.”

Social conservatives signing on the pledge include Tony Perkins, Matt Barber, Penny Nance, James Dobson, Richard Land, Judith Reisman, Linda Harvey, Bill Donohue, Don Wildmon, Andrea Lafferty, Janet Porter, Peter LaBarbera, Ralph Reed, Gary Bauer, Bishop Harry Jackson and Oklahoma Rep. Sally Kern.